Posted on

EFF U WORTHY #9 You must be new to basic door opening etiquette

For my gal Ally,

There is this unwritten rule that I thought most people were aware of. Let me break it down for all of those that are still trying to grasp the complexity of the “Sneezing On Strangers Is Bad” rule.

If someone opens a door for you…

SAY “THANK YOU” JERKWAD!

NOTE: Don’t call the person a Jerkwad, just say “thank you”.

Phew, narrow miss for the simple minded there. Almost had Dear Abby or Miss Manners or whatever up my a$$, I could almost feel it and it was making me uncomfortable.

In what realm of existence is it not understood that if someone takes the time out of their day to stop something most likely heavy and hard from smashing you in the face, you thank them for that kindness?

If a crazed turkey or wayward baseball was flying at your face and a stranger stopped its inevitable collision with your visage you would be appreciative, no? I’m sure Fabio would have appreciated a little bird blockage. Why is it any different with a door?

That person in front of you could have done the “squeeze through” not touching the door at all and leaving it to close the exact second you approached it. They could have done the “swingback” where you are ALMOST positive they gave it a little push to close a second faster making your “squeeze through” impossible. But NO, they held it for you.

Have some common decency and thank them for making your day just a smidgen easier.

So you who think you are OWED the right to pass through doors without having it break your nose and without having to exert any actual energy of your own…

EFF U

About thediaryofaneffuaddict

I am a firm believer that I am surrounded by assholes and the intellectually stunted and it is my punishment for being just a little bit AWESOMER then I should be around these parts.

3 responses to “EFF U WORTHY #9 You must be new to basic door opening etiquette

  1. Red

    HAHAHHAHH, I so needed this. This is exactly what was needed to be said to “them” types. πŸ™‚ Keep on blogging…..you have a way with words. πŸ˜‰

  2. I hold lots of doors for everybody, but you know what, with the exception of the totally clueless, which turns out to only be ~1-2%, I get many saying “thank you.” I know downtown Hamilton, who woulda thunk it.

Leave a Reply

